Fashion, Plus size, and this game called Covet…

I know, I know. I haven’t posted in aaaaages and I need to work on that so if you follow me, you have my apologies. As I’ve said before, I struggle with depression and when it decides to be ugly it manages to convince me that everything I write is rubbish. This post however is not about that. That’s just my little spiel or apology. On to the purpose of tonight’s blog!

I play this game called Covet Fashion. If you’re not familiar with it, the best way to describe it is a paper doll dress up game. You’re given a situation, you pick the clothes you think fit that situation, and then everyone votes on what they think is the best look. Players are able to get a score from one star to five. It’s a fun little game. It lets those of us without the funds for retail therapy to get some virtual retail therapy instead.

Before I go any further, let me take a moment to say I give the makers of this game props for the fact they’re going to be making additional doll bodies for this game so that you can use other body types. Tall, plus, petite, etc. This is on top of the fact that they already include different skin tones and try to incorporate different holidays and themes from around the world.

Now, we get into my complaint, and in actually this isn’t actually against the game but rather remarks that I’ve seen from players. More and more I’m seeing comments along the lines that players are starting to judge people they see on the street based on how they look in comparison to how someone looks in Covet and if they think they’re below a certain mark then they judge that person as not being worthwhile to speak with.

There’s so much wrong with this sentiment that I actually don’t even know where to start!

It’s okay to judge a character in the game because, ya know, it’s a game. It’s what it’s there for, and if you and your friends wanna have a little game while people watching and rate how well someone’s look is put together, hey that’s all you. But to then decide whether or not a person is worth speaking to based on how they scored on your scale? How does that make sense to anyone is beyond me.

If we used this in everyday life, no one would ever talk to me. I might score a 2 on a good day. Take church Sunday for example. I was cold, cold means layers. I don’t have a lot of layer-able clothes so let me give you a vivid image of how I rolled into church. I’ve got an emerald green fake satin blouse on under a black stretch knit dress with a black cardigan on over top of that. Underneath that I have on black leggings with lace up the sides and a brown pair of knee high boots that ’cause my husband to lovingly call me Han Solo when I wear them. Oh, and before I forget I have a purple hand knit hat on my head, because, like I said, I’m cold. I didn’t dress to look cute. I didn’t dress to impress anyone. I dressed for warmth, and I’m pretty sure God understood that even if he was possibly shaking his head a little at my eccentric look.

Now, let me address the elephant in the room about the major, crucial, oh-my-gosh-I-can’t-believe-you-did-that fashion faux pas I just admitted to. I said I was wearing leggings. Albeit under a dress, but leggings none-the-less and *gasp* I am plus sized. It is safe to assume that I probably wear these leggings with a dress and with a blouse and you would be right. I am one of those not fashionably enlightened plus size beauties who digs leggings. They are comfy. I can dress them up or down as I want. They’re also *gasp* cheap, and did I mention comfy?

Bottom line, learn to look beyond clothes. If you’re so small minded that what someone is wearing makes them unworthy to you, maybe you should take a step back and self-evaluate. We all deserve to feel human, beautiful, and WORTHWHILE no matter what clothes we’re wearing, what our shopping budget is, and certainly that worthiness should never be based off a digital game.

Leave a Reply

